April 12, 2007

The Purple Wonder

Posted in Needlework at 8:53 pm by royalempress


For the Chinese New Year, my family and I went to Chinatown in Chicago. Hubby was kind enough to take me to Nina. I had to purchase something since the store was set up so nicely and the owner was very pleasant. Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Wool in Purple Club was the winner. I stared at it for a while and then it hit me… The One Skein Wonder with a few ideas from Glampyre’s Fitted Knits’ pattern, Two Tone Ribbed Shrug.

Voila!


Click pics to get a better view πŸ˜‰

I used Patton’s Brilliant in “Prettiest Plum” to give it a little sparkle. I’m so proud of myself (you can see that from the pictures). I even have bags under my eyes to show that I was determined to finish it so I could wear it on my trip to NYC last weekend. Oh the purple, how it shines and glimmers and all that purddy stuff πŸ™‚ Simply stunning! Now I have to get started on my bikini made from elastic and Paton’s Brilliant in gold and black. Woo woo!

7 Comments »

  1. Kerstin said,

    Hey, I’ve been to Nina. Love her window display and they are very pleasant and accommodating there. Your shrug is very cute!

  2. don said,

    Fine series. I enjoyed the voting process. Nice approach.

  3. Annie said,

    I’ve been to Nina as well (with Kerstin as a matter of fact)! Your shrug is adorable. I made one for my daughter, but I like yours so much better. Great job!

    And, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. πŸ™‚

  4. Sheila said,

    Love the shrug… and the purple is setting it off… fabulous job.

  5. stephanie said,

    i love the longer arms! you need to email me to let me know how you did it.
    s.

  6. pajnstl said,

    Very cute!
    I’m drooling over all colors

    I wanna go to Nina!

  7. Robin said,

    I like your version of the One-Skein Wonder! I’m from the Chicago area as well and have been to Nina – it looks more like an art gallery than a yarn shop!! Look forward to seeing your posts on the KAL.


Leave a Reply

