January 16, 2006

So many projects, so little time.

Posted in Needlework at 11:55 am by royalempress

Some days I feel like I need 2 life times to knit all the gifts and goodies I make for people. So far I have 5 projects for other people and 2 to complete for myself. *Sigh*. Why couldn’t I have 4 more hands to I can churn out these projects in no time?? Well, God only gave me two so I’ll keep on keepin’ on.

Although I knew darn well I had no business buying more yarn or starting another project, I had to pick up Moda Dea Cache in colors Wink and Rendevouz from Michael’s on sale for a limited time for $3 a ball. That’s right! 3 whole dollars. The reg price is $5.99 so I thought it was a steal. With 72yds per ball, I thought it would be perfect for a little purse for my good friend K*m. She so deserves a hot handmade couture purse (yeah, that’s what I think of my work) 😀 I got the idea from a winter 2004 Easy Knitting magazine.The pattern calls for Collinette Pointe 5, but my budget won’t let me answer the call. It looks great in Cache so far…


Here’s what it looks like so far:

Up close (it has a very nice hand painted look):

The front (in Wink) only took a few hours. I’m on the back now. The gusset will be a different color (Rendevouz). I’ll have to line it with some black felt I have left over and a very pretty cotton fabric w/ japanese prints then sewn on a zipper. The ribbon is nice but on the NY subway, a zipper would be better! I can’t wait to see the finished product. I’ll be sure to post pics of the progress.

Here’s the felted purse K*m made for me.


Isn’t she loveley? Thanks k*m!

I finally got my secret pal’s info. That’s another project I’m adding to the list. Man, are my fingers tired. I think I’ll have to give them a 2 week vacation which will be hard. Anyway…

‘Til next time….

