September 24, 2005

Love keeping secrets!

Posted in Needlework at 1:43 am by royalempress

I was too thrilled today to get a letter from the host of SP 6. I was late in signing up but she managed to set me with someone. So it’s back to shopping for my SP. Wooo hoooo! I’ve already have a few ideas in mind and I think I’ll be sending something out this week. As for the person that’s my SP, here’s some info for ya:

1. Are you a yarn snob (do you prefer higher quality and/or natural fibers)? Do you avoid Red Heart and Lion Brand? Or is it all the same to you?

I was born a yarn snob. However, I have come to humble my preferences when it comes to beautiful, inexpensive yarn such as Lion Brand’s Incredible and I looove Caron’s Simply Soft and Bliss.

2. Do you spin? Crochet?

No, and yes.

3. Do you have any allergies? (smoke, pets, fibers, perfume, etc.)

Smoke…yuck!

4. How long have you been knitting?

4 years.

5. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?

I sure do! Click here.

6. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products etc.)

I like anything that has a light, fresh scent to it. I’m not a fruity kind of girl. I’m more of the flowery, woodsy scents type.

7. Do you have a sweet tooth?

I do, but I shouldn’t so don’t encourage me 😀

8. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do?

Photography. Things at random…I’m a novice.

9. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)

Suprise me. I may suprise you and like it!! I listen to literally anything I can move to.

10. What’s your favorite color? Or–do you have a color family/season/palette you prefer? Any colors you just can’t stand?

Earth tones, cool blues and purples.

12. What are your life dreams? (really stretching it here, I know)

I’m sure I’m not the first to say but, I’d like to open a yarn/book store. I would also like to teach young girls how to knit (and guys too if they’re willing).

13. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with?

This will take up most of the page but I’ll try to keep it short: Noro (oh Noro…I love you LOL!), Rowan, Crystal Palace, Gedifra for the funky stuff, Koigu, Lamb’s Pride Brown Sheep, Trendsetter, Grignasco and believe it or not Lion Brand’s Moonlight, Incredible and Caron’s Bliss (yummy yummy). Pretty much anything soft..but no fuzzy, furry stuff please.

14. What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?

Itchy acylics and wools. Blah!

15. What is/are your current knitting obsession/s?

Shawls and sweaters.

16. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?

Felted bags and baby clothes. Usually they’re quick and painless.

17. What are you knitting right now?

A poncho (who knew?), a blanket and a sweater.

18. What do you think about ponchos?

They can have an out dated look or they can be elegant. It really depends on the style. Personally, I don’t own any, but I’m making a couture looking poncho now 😀

19. Do you prefer straight or circular needles?

Usually circs are portable so I tend to use them a lot. I like fancy straight needles. I’m thinking about getting a glass pair from ebay.

20. Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?

Metal like Addi Turbo’s or Susan Bates Silvalume/Silverado.

21. Are you a sock knitter?

I will officially finish the first pair I’ve started eventually, then I can officially say yes.

22. How did you learn to knit?

From a friend of the family.

23. How old is your oldest UFO?

2 yrs old.

24. What is your favorite animated character or a favorite animal/bird?

Aeon Flux (animated character) because she is beautiful, half naked but dangerous lol!

25. What is your favorite holiday?

New Years.

26. Is there anything that you collect?

Recently I’ve been in to really fancy handmade knitting needles, cool stitch markers and knitting figurines.

27. What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?

None, but I would love one to Vogue Knitting.

28. Any books out there you are dying to get your hands on?

Yeah, they’re on my Amazon list.

29. Any patterns you have been coveting, but haven’t bought for one reason or another??

Charlotte’s Web from Koigu. I would love to make it for my Mom.

30. What are your foot measurements, and what kind of socks do you like?

I wear a size 6 and I love soft, warm socks!

I’m really looking forward to this!!

FYI: Lately I’ve been eye balling Berocco’s Foliage in Chinese Lantern and Gedifra’s Opulenz and Byzanz 😀 I hope this helps!

